TMSA Traditional Music & Song Association of Scotland

In Other News...

TMSA Newsletter

TMSA Newsletter Issue 1 2013
TMSA Newsletter Issue 1 2013

TMSA News Archive

Keith Festival 2009

The 34th Keith Festival was yet again a celebration of the marvellous traditions and culture of Scotland.

The standard of the competitions was very high, with Duncan McRae from Fife winning the Men's Traditional Singing, and Maggie Spiers from Turriff being successful in the Women's Traditional Singing.

Shona Donaldson from Tarland won the Bothy Ballad, and will take her place in the Champion of Champions competition in Elgin next February.  It is believed that Shona is only the second women to take part in that competition in it's 38 year history, the other being Jean Duguid, who won the TMSA Aberdeen Branch competition in 1987.

The new Mither Tongue Trophy for the youngster judged to be the best of the threee Junior competitioins was won by Connor Morrison from Keith.

The Anne Reid Memorial Trophy was won by Eoin Taylor from Alford, who won the Junior Bothy Ballad as well as the Traditional Singing in the 15 and under category.

The Ian Middleton Trophy for  Doric poem, which this year attracted 94 entries, was won by Daniel Barber from Kinneff.

John Dickson from Tarves won the highly contested Chorus Cup with a self-penned song "The weekend Caravanner".

Keith Festival results 2009

Fiddle (Senior): Graham MacKenzie, Inverness

Fiddle (Junior): Robbie MacKenzie, Inverness

Fiddle (12 & under): George Davidson, Tarves

Accordion (Senior): Craig Paton, Milnathort

Accordion (Junior): Steven Barclay, Inverness

Accordion (12 & under): Heather Laing, Duffus

Melodeon: Fred Davidson, Banchory

Moothie: Bob Hay, Elgin

Diddling: Dr Ian Russell, Aberdeen

Tin Whistle (Senior): Sarah Simpson, Aberdeen

Tin Whistle (Junior): Shannon Webster, Keith

Tin Whistle (12 & under): Amy Jo Thomson, Keith

Recorder (13 & over): Michelle Webster, Keith

Recorder (12 & under): Bethany Cartsairs, Keith

Recorder (Group): Michelle and Shannon Webster

Poetry (7 & under): Laura Main, Keith

Poetry (10 & under): Connor Morrison, Keith

Poetry (13 & under): Ewan Brindle, Keith

Poetry (Group): Ewan Brindle & Darren Brown, Keith

Poetry (Senior): = Peter Chapman, Strichen and Jake Simpson, Inverurie

Bothy Ballad (Senior): Shona Donaldson, Tarland

Bothy Ballad (Junior): Eoin Taylor, Alford

Traditional Singing (Men): Duncan McRae, Fife

Traditional Singing (Women): Maggie Speirs, Turriff

Traditional Singing (9 & under): Rachel Carstairs, Keith

Traditional SInging (12 & under): Meghan Winchester, Keith

Traditional Singing (15 & under): Eoin Taylor, Alford

Best Local Singer: Josie Cruikshank, Grange

Best Instrumental (12 & under): Eilidh Anderson, Aboyne

Instrumental Group: The MacKenzie Family, Inverness

Piano (15 & under): Meghan Winchester, Keith

Storytelling (Senior): Jane Chalmers, Fraserburgh

Storytelling (Junior): Stephanie Main, Keith

Storytelling (12 & under): Amanda Ross, Keith